## **Capital of Texas Bridge Association Annual Meeting**

## ACBL District 16, Unit 201

## Annual Minutes: February 7, 2015

The meeting was called to order by Pam LaShelle at 1:00 P.M. Approximately 145 members were present.

Secretary Joyce Cooper read the minutes from the 2014 Annual Meeting.

Membership Chair Hutch Hutchinson reported on the methods the Club uses to attract new members and the monthly educational seminars. In 2014, the Unit sent 532 free plays to 133 new members. When a new member comes in, the Unit gives two free play coupons to the member to use at any local club, and 2 free plays to use at any local tournament. He stated that the Unit membership is at 965, an increase of 24 over last year, but one shy of an all time high.

Treasurer Robert Donathan reported the current financial status. The Unit currently has assets of \$103,560. The Board made the decision in 2014 to begin an investment participation in Vanguard's Standard & Poor 500 Fund of \$3,000 per month for 8 months. The strategy will be reviewed at the end of that period.

Pam LaShelle then took the floor and recognized individuals for their help and contributions during the year. Plaques were presented Ken MacMorran and Mark McAlister for outstanding service. The Mini-Kinney winners and Ace of Club winners were recognized and given achievement certificates and pins. She then introduced the Goodwill Awards recipients for 2014: Betsy Lidgey and James Davis; followed by the Texas Star Award winner, Robert Donathan.

The candidates for the Unit Board were introduced: Josh Bank, Tracy Bruce, Amanda Gruen, Rachell Jackson, Pam LaShelle, Julie Mckenna, Sandy Potts, Costa Triantaphilides, and Dean Truair. There was a call for further nominations from the floor, but none were made.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 to be followed by a 26 Board game of bridge, free to all attending members!