Texas Capital Bridge Association

ACBL District 16, Unit 207

Monthly Minutes: January 13, 2016

The meeting was called to order by President Pam LaShelle at 2:50.

Members Present: Pam LaShelle, Pat Rutledge, Hutch Hutchinson, Dean Truair, Costa Triantaphilides, Rachell Jackson, Joyce Cooper, and Sandy Potts. Also present: Acting Treasurer Robert Donathan.

Old Business: Secretary Joyce Cooper read the Minutes of the December meeting which had previously been approved electronically.

Robert Donathan, presented the financial report for December. It was reviewed and approved.

The January tournament was reviewed. Whether or not to have future games at the hotel begin at 10:00 and 2:00 or 2:30 was discussed, but no decision was made.

Texas Star and Goodwill recipients were approved electronically prior to this meeting.

President Pam LaShelle suggested that in future, hospitality would be assigned to members during the year rather than have the Hospitality Chair doing all the work for each event. It was moved and approved to so assign all Unit Board Members to Unit events by the Hospitality Chair.

It was discussed that getting the membership involved in hospitality functions would be a good policy. Further, the Tournament Chair will be making announcements in the future asking players to tidy up their areas at the end of sessions.

Sandy Potts, Chairperson for the Spring unit tournament, had questions on the tournament format, and the schedule was reviewed. It was moved and approved that the game times would be 10:00 and 2:30 and that lunch would not be served, except on Sunday for the Swiss. It was further decided to eliminate the evening games as they have not been making. It will be the Director's decision whether to continue the 2 separate Swiss games on Saturday or add a 2 Session Swiss in lieu of the KO.

New Business: The annual membership meeting will be February 20, followed by a free play game for all members attending the annual meeting. The nominees for the 2016 Board will be introduced and they are: Costa Triantaphilides, Sanae Zaveloff, Richard Clements, Jo Dee Bowen, Harry Ingham, and Robert Tyler. Three members will be elected for 3 year terms. Tracy Bruce will not be running for re-election.

It was agreed to have professional pictures taken of Flora Pettit and Scott Humphrey for display, honoring their respective awards as the National Goodwill recipient, and the 2015 Jane Johnson Award, given to one national director each year to recognize excellence in directing.

It was moved and approved to give the Chair of Unit run Sectionals at the Bridge Center a stipend of \$500, to be allocated as the Chair so deems for assistance in hospitality and kitchen duties

It was agreed that the Unit will set standards for cell phone usage at games and tournaments. A policy will be put forward at the February Board meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:35.